Bilderbereich - Willkommen

Weingut Keith

Garden path to the Moselle


For many generations our family has been growing wine. In former times there used to be a farm (cattle breeding and agriculture) as well as a wine-growing estate. Since the middle of the 1970ies we are specialized in growing wine.

You will find our wine-growing estate in Andel, a small Moselle village which has been a part of Bernkastel-Kues since 1969. It is situated in the "heart" of  the most charming part of the Moselle valley, in the bend between Bernkastel-Kues and Trarbach.

2000 years of wine culture have left their traces along the Moselle river. We don't know exactly when the first vines reached our village and if the Romans really were the first ones to grow wine here. It is true that they encouraged the wine-growing - illegally in the beginning. After Cicero (106 - 43. B.C.) the Roman senate had forbidden the cultivation of vines and olives in the provinces in order to protect their own products. Later on, the emperor Probus (276 - 282) supported the wine-culture in the provinces.

Oak barrels were first made by the people of Gallia and Germania who used them for storing and transporting mead, beer and wine. Still oak barrels protect our precious liquids in cool underground vaults.

Sprachauswahl

Bilderbereich - Willkommen

Weingut Keith

Gartenweg zur Mosel

Herzlich willkommen

Seit Generationen wird in unserer Familie Weinbau betrieben. In früheren Zeiten in Verbindung mit einem landwirtschaftlichen Betrieb (Viehzucht und Ackerbau) und seit Mitte der 1970er als reines Weingut.

Unser Weingut liegt im Moseldorf Andel, das seit 1969 Stadtteil von Bernkastel-Kues ist. Es liegt im Herzen der Mittelmosel, so nennt man die Moselschleife zwischen Bernkastel und Trarbach.

2000-jährige Weinkultur an der Mosel hat ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Es ist nicht bekannt, wann die Reben nach Andel kamen und ob die Römer wirklich die ersten waren, die Wein hier angebaut haben. Es stimmt aber, das sie den Anbau der Reben forcierten und das zunächst einmal illegal. Nach Cicero (106 – 43 v. Chr.) verbot der römische Senat den Anbau von Reben und Ölbäumen in den Provinzen, um den Wert der eigenen Reben zu schützen. Erst Kaiser Probus (276 - 282) hat den Weinbau gefördert.

Die Eichenfässer sind Erfindungen der Gallier und Germanen, die darin Met, Bier und Wein lagerten und transportierten. Im kühlen Gewölbekeller behüten sie bei uns auch heute noch unsere edlen Tropfen, wie es sich gehört.